Victor’s Kitchen

PhotobucketTucked away in the heart of Sunshine Plaza on Bencoolen Street, Victor’s Kitchen has garnered a loyal following over the years. That makes it almost seem like a crime on my part for not featuring them earlier….especially since I’ve been a loyal customer myself. Fans and fans-to-be of Victor’s Kitchen can rejoice, for their dim sum is tasting better each day. During my first few visits, I mentally noted that their har gao (prawn dumpling) filling was succulent and fresh, but the skin was just average taste-wise. However, I revisited them with A today for a farewell lunch of sorts and we ordered their King Prawn Har Gao ($3.50) [***.], Prawn Chee Cheong Fun ($3.80) [****], Fried Spring Rolls ($2) [**.], Chicken Rice ($3) [***], and Steamed Radish Cake ($3) [****.]. The wait was surprisingly short despite it being lunch hour (we were there around 1.15pm). We also discovered that they acquired another unit aside from their 2 adjoining ones (due to their expanding business no doubt), located somewhere to the left of their original unit pictured above.

PhotobucketThe prawn chee cheong fun was the first to arrive, and after recently having some from my ultimate favourite Old Airport Road Food Centre stall, my tastebuds detected an improvement in Victor’s Kitchen’s chee cheong fun. Comparatively speaking, the one from Old Airport Road was superior in taste because of its silky smooth skin that is consistently steamed to perfection. That being said, Victor’s chee cheong fun is a close second in my book because of their sizeable and tasty prawn filling. 

The har gao was next with more succulent prawns and even better skin. If you haven’t noticed by now, I’m a stickler for quality skin in all my dim sum. And Victor’s aces this portion for their har gao. Another one of my favourites is their steamed radish (carrot) cake pictured below. Soft, melt-in-the-mouth with dried shrimp, lup cheong (dried chinese sausage) and topped with spring onion, this dish tastes even better when paired with their fried chilli-garlic sauce-dip. Make sure you ask for this dip!
 

Photobucket

The fried spring rolls were simple, nothing spectacular…while the Chicken Rice could’ve been better I felt. It was a pity that they ran out of steamed pork ribs too. Although the majority of Victor’s dim sum is mouthwatering and value-for-money, I would suggest sticking to familiar favourites and leaving room for popular items like the Custard Egg Pau for dessert. With all the good dim sum that’s on the menu, I always run out of space before I get to dessert. Won’t happen again for sure. I’ve got my mind set on trying that custard egg pau I’ve heard rave reviews about.

 / No GST and Service Charge.

The I-wanna-know[s]:

Taste – 8/10
Price – $ to $$
Service – 7/10
Ambience – 6/10
Accessibility – 7/10

Legend:
[$]-cheap like peanuts: ($10 & below/person)
[$$]-average Jane ($15-$25/person)
[$$$]-you might wanna tke tht card out..($30-$60/person)
[$$$$]-extremely exorbitant ($70 & above/person)
[* to *****] – rating(s) for individual dishes

Tel: +65 9838 2851

Address:
91 Bencoolen St, Sunshine Plaza, #01-21. (next to Prinsep Street)

Opening hours:
10am – 8pm daily
/ Closed Mondays

Dress code: Casual
Buses: 65, 857, 131, 147…

Nearest MRT: Dhoby Ghaut

/ image of victor’s kitchen taken from the hungry cow

One thought on “Victor’s Kitchen

  1. Hello

    thanks for adding me at foodbuzz! first time to yr blog, and looks like we share the same interest in finding new places to eat! haha!

    i been to victor’s kitchen a couple of weeks ago, but haven got the time to blog abt it yet. lol

    cheers
    Brad

Leave a Reply

