Food Addict Cafe | now defunct

Food Addict Cafe
Food Addict Cafe

Food Addict Cafe first joined the Toa Payoh Central neighbourhood in 2007. They are situated along a row of shophouses facing the library, next to a florist. I’ve tried their desserts some time back, but yesterday was the first time I tried their food. B and I were there for his belated birthday lunch, so we decided to get their cake set (+$6) in addition to our main courses. For an additional $6, you’ll get any slice of cake on the menu or that’s on display, plus a drink.

When we were going through the appetisers, Little Miss Toadstool ($5) stood out, but it was a pity that they sold out. Since it’s highly recommended by B, I’ll try it another day. B decided on one of Food Addict’s popular mains – Hot Chix ($9) [***.], a blueberry soda, and Dark Chocolate Cake [***] for his lunch. After much deliberation (I was torn between fish, spaghetti pesto and prawn aglio olio), I settled for the Prawn Aglio Olio ($8.50) [***]– mainly because B wanted my opinion on how good it was. For my choice of cake and drink, I had a strawberry soda and Mango Mousse Cake [***.]. I must say it’s tough picking a cake when you’re faced with a revolving display like the one you’re looking at now.

Food Addict Cafe's Oven-baked Chicken
Hot Chix

After a relatively short wait, Hot Chix arrived first. The piping hot oven-baked chicken breast smelled really good. The flesh was tender and juicy with minimal oil. After a few morsels of B‘s chicken, I established somewhat that the marinade had a light teriyaki tinge to it. Hot Chix makes a hearty, healthy meal I’d say.

I must also commend Food Addict for their wonderful service. The waiters were very attentive, topping up our glasses of water frequently, and were pretty helpful in their dessert recommendations. It’s a small place so their staff recognise regulars like B.

Photobucket
Prawn Aglio Olio

My Prawn Aglio Olio came shortly after, so the wait wasn’t long at all. Presentation-wise, I felt that the pasta could’ve been tossed better. But I’ve learnt from experience not to judge a dish by its looks, so I picked up my fork, twirled it, and took my first bite.

The first thing I tasted was the tabasco sauce, followed by the olive oil. Food Addict’s version has onions, garlic, chillis, mushrooms, and prawns. Do ask them to adjust the spiciness of the dish, because aglio olio typically has chilli flakes or cut chilli added to it. I asked for mine to be slightly spicier, so there were chilli seeds aplenty. The aglio olio would’ve tasted better with a little more garlic, but the overall taste was flavourful. I’m difficult to please when it comes to this particular pasta simply because it’s my favourite. They did nail the al dente portion though, so kudos for that.

Food Addict Cafe's Mango Mousse Cake
Mango Mousse Cake

Food Addict’s desserts are value-for-money and utterly scrumptious. I love their mudpies that come oozing with sinful chocolate sauce, vanilla ice-cream and chocolate chips. The Mango Mousse Cake is very light, with a great sponge cake base, mango filling and mango jelly layer. Perfect after a filling meal. Their Dark Chocolate Cake is worth a try too.

/ No GST and Service Charge.

The I-wanna-know[s]:

Taste – 7/10
Price – $ to $$
Service – 9/10
Ambience – 6/10
Accessibility – 8/10

Legend:
[$]-cheap like peanuts: ($10 & below/person)
[$$]-average Jane ($15-$25/person)
[$$$]-you might wanna tke tht card out..($30-$60/person)
[$$$$]-extremely exorbitant ($70 & above/person)
[* to *****] – rating(s) for individual dishes

Tel/Fax: +65 6259 4218

Address:
Blk 185 Toa Payoh Central, #01-324, Singapore 310185

Website: http://foodaddictcafe.blogspot.com

Email: addictedtoit@gmail.com

Opening hours:
Mondays: 12pm – 5pm
Tuesday to Sunday: 12pm – 10pm

Dress code: Casual
Buses: 238, 142, 31, 26, 8, 88, 159, 90…

Nearest MRT: Toa Payoh

4 thoughts on “Food Addict Cafe | now defunct

Leave a Reply

